Skip to main content

Setting default startup path in Cmder

Recently I have been migrating more of my applications from being portable installations to being managed by scoop. I find that using scoop saves me a lot of time when I want to update the versions of my applications. So I went and remove my portable cmder installation and setup cmder again using scoop.

As usual, first thing I usually run

cmder.exe /registerall

to add cmder to my right click context menu. After which, I will pin cmder to the task bar. Now I wanted to make cmder start in a specified path everytime I open cmder from the task bar and I wanted cmder to open in the correct path when I click open cmder from my right click context menu.

What I did was add the following to the target of the taskbar icon.

/start C:\

which will make cmder start in C:by default. Hope that is useful for reference.