Skip to main content

So far in 2018

In the beginning of the year, I said that I wanted to do the following,
  • Be proficient in Linux, switch to using Linux full time.

  • Learn and write some programs in Rust

  • At least one post per month for this blog.

  • Learn at least 3 new language this year (Rust/Go/Pascal/Dart/Red)

  • Develop a cross platform mobile app of any sort.

  • Join a game jam

  • Learn Vim properly

Out of all of them, I have
  • Using Linux full time (Installed Manjaro on my Lenovo W500) for development.

  • Learning D lang, going to start learning Nim as well.

  • Hopefully, with the new blog, it will have less friction for me to write more posts.

Firstly, I think it is rather interesting that I first discover Linux when I was 15 years old or so, my first experience was running a Knoppix which I got it off the net. It was my first time running an Operating System (OS) from a disc. From then on, I really admire the work people put into the respective distro. From then, I move on to Ubuntu and I even used Slackware for a time. I really enjoy using Linux and I hope to explore other open source OS in the near future.

Next, I would like to talk about the language learnt. It is rather interesting that the language that I decided to learn is not on the list that I propose earlier on. I have come across D for a few times now, but I think recently I saw that there is a DConf 2018 and I thought it would be interesting to pick up D lang as well. Why I went with D instead of Rust/Go was because I wanted something that was closer to C++ and also there is a free book that teaches D. At that point, I also wanted to learn more about sockets programming. I went online to see what kind of projects are interesting to build and I came across this blog that list FTP client as on of the software to build. I immediately took up the challenge and proceeded to write my own client in D, using sockets.

Meanwhile also check out my simple echo server/client that I wrote in D.

For the next project, I would love to try out Nim as well. Stay tuned for more projects. I think it's rather interesting that the goals that I have set for myself. I will continue to work towards it.